Le delizie culinarie di Sorrento

Despite an unrelenting aversion to tomatoes, Italian cuisine has always held a special place in my heart; most probably attributable to the fact that for as long as I can remember, my dad (the Don of all Italian cooking, despite his distinctly English roots), has devoted Thursday nights to creating an Italian feast that the Chiappas would be proud of.

Those nights hold special memories for me, and have undoubtedly contributed to my love of cooking, experimenting, and experiencing new flavours. So this year, when I decided that Sorrento was the only place I’d be happy to holiday after a particularly dreary English summer, my mouth was positively watering in anticipation of the culinary delights that awaited me.

As you can probably imagine, my annual jaunt turned into a seven day food and drink trail of Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri. And what better way to spend a holiday?

I indulged in the sumptuous delights of the richest profiteroles.

The profiteroles of Amalfi

Gorged myself on the most garlicky garlic bread known to man.

Not a vampire in sight

And took a great deal of pleasure in trying a dish that I’d be salivating over since it was first cooked up on Simply Italian…ravioli with walnut sauce.

Complete with ricotta and nutmeg filling

I also become addicted to Café Freddo (iced coffee), drank more Prosecco than the cast of Made in Chelsea consume in a year, and became rather too used to my daily gelato. All in all, Sorrento was culinary heaven; but then Italy always is.

So, as well as leaving me with a very full stomach and a body full of inspiration, Sorrento left me wanting to see much, much more of Italy. And with Rome conquered last year, there’s only Milan, Venice, Florence, Pisa, Bologna, Naples and Parma to go…

Watch this space.

Love Emma xx

Leave a Reply

