Christmas just wouldn’t be Christmas without a cake stall

cake stall

Presiding over the cakes…

Since starting this blog, I’ve cooked more than ever before, and regularly share my offerings with friends and family alike – so it came as no surprise when two of my friends badgered me into having my own cake stall at the Keele Christmas market this year. But I wasn’t going to tackle it alone, and roped my mum (the don of baking) into sharing the sweet responsibility (then promptly ordered some business cards to get the White Rabbits word well and truly out).

Business cards

I wouldn’t want people to miss out on my recipes now, would I?

The first problem was deciding which cakes to make. I had my heart set on chocolate fridge cake until mum astutely pointed out that without the aid of a fridge, the chocolate would quickly melt (and now you see why I wasn’t doing this alone).

In the end, we settled on:

  • Oreo cookie cupcakes
  • Coffee cake
  • Chocolate and peanut butter brownies
  • Carrot cake
  • Gingerbread men
  • Lemon cake
  • Ginger Christmas cake with brandy buttercream
  • Coconut cake
  • Green tea cake with lime and coconut buttercream

(I will of course be bringing you all of the recipes over the coming weeks!)

Soon into the baking process, we realised that catering for a Christmas fayre was going to be a messy job.

messy kitchen

Messy kitchen alert!

By the end of the preparation day, there wasn’t a clear surface in sight. We stayed up until 1 a.m. icing, decorating, and bagging up gingerbread families, and early next morning, we were ready to go and get set up for a festive day of cake.

cake fayre

Let the selling commence!

The fayre was incredibly busy, and it was great to see so many people enjoying our handy work.

eating cake

A happy customer

It soon became apparent that we should have made a lot more cake! We sold out long before the fayre came to a dusky close – leaving nothing but crumbs in our wake. Success!

Same time next year then?

Love Emma xx

2 thoughts on “Christmas just wouldn’t be Christmas without a cake stall

  1. Pingback: Oreo cookie cupcakes (yeah, you heard) | White rabbits and hungry habits

  2. Pingback: Festive gingerbread men | White rabbits and hungry habits

Leave a Reply

