Easy tortilla pizza

Mouth-wateringly good!

Mouth-wateringly good!

It’s no secret that I love pizza. If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, pizza would be it. Now I know that’s not particularly adventurous, but I never, ever get bored of it. I do however recognise that it’s not the healthiest of foods, so with spring on the horizon, I decided to have a go of making my own sort-of-healthy-because-it’s-not-doughy pizza.

Instead of baking up a batch of dough, I used tortilla wraps which become incredibly crispy in the oven; and because they’re so thin, the topping is centre of attention ― the way nature (and the Italian gods) intended. I am thin crust all the way, and this is about as thin as it gets.

I’m not giving you exact quantities because it depends how many you’re making and how much topping you like (and also because I made it up as I went along without measuring), so use your common sense to adjust accordingly.

To recreate the magic, you’ll need:

  • Tortilla wraps or flat breads
  • Tomato purée
  • Garlic
  • Chilli
  • Red wine
  • Grated cheddar cheese
  • Chorizo (or whatever meat/veggie option you prefer)
  • Freshly torn basil leaves

Making the magic happen:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. Chop a clove of garlic with one red chilli (or some dried chilli flakes). Fry in a pan with a little olive oil
  3. Add a squeeze of tomato puree (about 1-2 tbsp), followed by a glug of red wine and a little water
  4. Mix well then spread across your tortillas
  5. Cover them with a grating of cheddar cheese (or some torn mozzarella) and whatever meat or veg you’ve plumped for. If using chorizo (like me), fry it before adding to the pizza
  6. Pop in the oven for a few minutes, keeping an eye on your tortilla pizzas so they don’t burn
  7. Take them out and put the tray on a hot hob to make sure the bottom is nice and crisp; then finish off with a few torn basil leaves

Enjoy with a cold glass of Prosecco – the Italian way.

(Told you it was easy).

Love Emma xx

One thought on “Easy tortilla pizza

  1. Pingback: Paleo: eating the no wheat, no grain, no dairy sort of way | White rabbits and hungry habits

Leave a Reply

