Thai beef coconut curry with paleo rice

Sweet n spicy...heaven!

Sweet n spicy…heaven!

I should probably preface this post with a grovelling apology for being so lax of late: things have been a little busy (read manic) both professionally and personally, and with a new fitness regime thrown in for good measure, my poor blog has born the brunt. But in the woods of Benjamin Franklin: “He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else”, so we’ll leave the excuses there and get on with the recipe.

Thai beef coconut curry with paleo rice. But you can’t eat rice on the paleo diet, right? Well, no, but you can dice up cauliflower real small, fry it up with the holy trinity (onion, garlic and chilli), and create something even tastier.

I’ll admit that going paleo has been pretty tough; not because I don’t like the food, or because I’ve been having particular cravings for bread, pasta or noodles ― quite the opposite, I’ve barely missed them at all. Nope, the real sticking point is the planning, and quite often, the inconvenience. I like to eat out at the weekends, and finding something on the menu that’s ‘paleo friendly’ is damned hard. But we’re all allowed a break, so I don’t beat myself up too much about the weekend slip-ups. I have however experienced quite a few mid-week slips ups, simply through poor planning, so I am going to have to go back to my spreadsheet (yes, I have a meal planning spreadsheet) and get my arse well and truly in gear.

*Success story claxon*

However, on the one night that I did have the right ingredients to hand, I knocked up the best Thai curry I’ve ever eaten ― Thai restaurants included! It was also the first time I’d ever used steak in curry, which counts as a double success in my book.

Hoorah!

To recreate this little bowl of magic, you’ll need the following (in varying quantities because I was cooking for one):

For the curry

  • Coconut oil for cooking
  • Steak (I used rump and bashed it with a rolling pin until thin and tenderised)
  • Thai red curry paste (you can make your own, but I buy an authentic ready-made paste with no additives ― just the ingredients you’d use if you had the time to make it yourself)
  • Can of coconut cream
  • Water or stock
  • Fish sauce
  • Thai basil leaves (three-four)
  • Onion, tender stem or purple sprouting broccoli and asparagus, all cut into similar sized chunks
  • Tamari (wheat-free soy sauce)
  • Fresh chopped coriander
  • Zest and juice of one lime
  • Chilli flakes
  • Spring onions, finely chopped to garnish
  • Cashew nuts, chopped and lightly toasted
  • Agave syrup (a natural alternative to sugar)

For the rice

  • Coconut oil for cooking
  • Cauliflower florets, diced to resemble grains of rice
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Chilli

 To make the magic happen:

  1. Put your wok on a high heat and add a spoonful of coconut oil. When it’s melted and hot, add a spoonful of Thai curry paste (I actually use about four spoonfuls because I like a lot of flavour) and a spoonful of coconut cream, then cook for two minutes (this releases the flavours)
  2. Meanwhile, and in a separate pan, heat some more coconut oil and fry your onion, chilli and garlic for two minutes, followed by your diced cauliflower. This takes about 20 minutes to cook through, so just stir occasionally whilst seeing to your curry
  3. Now, back to the curry: cut your steak into strips and add to the paste; when sealed, add the rest of your coconut cream and a little stock or hot water, along with the Thai basil leaves. Allow to cook for a few minutes before throwing in your chopped vegetables
  4. Next up squeeze in the juice and zest of one lime, a capful of fish sauce, a squeeze of agave syrup, a sprinkling of tamari (or soy sauce), and a chopped bunch of fresh coriander ― along with your chopped and toasted cashew nuts
  5. Allow it to simmer whilst your paleo rice is cooking. When the cauliflower starts to brown and soften, pop in a bowl, pour the curry over the top, and garnish with chopped spring onion, chilli flakes, coriander leaves, and a few toasted cashews

It really is heaven on a plate!

Enjoy with a nice cold Thai beer. My favourite is Singha.

Love Emma xx

3 thoughts on “Thai beef coconut curry with paleo rice

  1. Still not sure what I think about paleo, but I do love the idea of making ‘rice’ out of vegetables. Anything that means I eat more veg is good in my book.

  2. My god, this is amazing! I adapted it a wee bit to suit a plan that I’m on and used chicken instead. It was sooooo soooo good. Exactly what I was looking for and just as good, if not better than anything I’ve ever had from a thai restaurant.

    Thank you 🙂

    I stumbled on you via a google search for “paleo coconut cream curry” and will be following you from now on.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment 🙂 It is one of my very favourite dishes and I am now well and truly addicted to coconut cream! So glad you tried it and enjoyed it as much as me x

Leave a Reply

